A Choral Suite "In Laude Iesu (In Praise of Jesus)"

 for Mixed Chorus, a cappella

合唱組曲「In Laude Iesu (イエスへの賞賛によせて)」


Music by Kentaro Sato (Ken-P)

作曲 佐藤賢太郎(Ken-P)

Choral Score. SATB (合唱譜)

 All available printed scores from Amazon are listed on the follwoing pages; USA, UK, Germany, Japan, and other Amazon worldwide.


click to play audio/ クリックして再生

 1. Ne Timeas Maria

 2. Lux Fulgebit

 3. Ave Verum Corpus

 4. O Filii et Filiae

YouTube Video List


Latin / ラテン語

1. Ne Tímeas, María

Ne tímeas, María:
invenísti énim grátiam ápud Dóminum;
écce concípies in útero,
et páries fílium;
et vocábitur Altíssimi Fílius.


2. Lúx Fulgébit

Lúx fulgébit hódie súper nos,
quía nátus est nóbis Dóminus;
et vocábitur admirábilis, Deus,
Prínceps Pácis, Páter futúri sǽculi,
cúius régni non érit fínis.

Dóminus regnávit; decórum indútus est;
indútus est Dóminus fortitúdinem,
et præcínxit se.


3. Áve Vérum Córpus 

Áve vérum córpus, nátum
de María Vírgine,
vére pássum, immolátum
in crúce pro hómine,
cúius látus, perforátum,
únda flúxit et sanguine.

Ésto nóbis prægustátum
in mórtis exámine.

O Iésu dúlcis, O Iésu píe, O Iésu, fíli Máriæ,


4. O Fílii et Fíliae

O fílii et fíliae,
Réx caeléstis, Réx glóriae,
mórte surréxit hódie.

In hoc fésto sanctíssimo,
sit láus et jubilátio; 
benedicámus Dómino,

De quíbus nos humíllimas,
devótas átque débitas,
Déo dicámus grátias.

English Translation / 英語訳

1. Fear You Not, Mary

Fear you not, Mary:
for you have come upon grace in the presence of the Lord;
lo, you will conceive in your womb,
and you will bring forth a son;
and he will be called the Son of the Most High.


2. Light Will Flash

Light will flash over us today,
because the Lord has been born to us;
and he will be called very wonderful, God,
Prince of Peace, Father of the future generation,
of which kingdom there will be no end.

The Lord has been our king; He has donned decorum;
the Lord has donned  strength;
and He has girded himself.


3. Hail True Body

Hail, true Body, born
from the Virgin Mary,
having suffered truly, having been immolated
on the cross for a human,
whose side, pierced through,
has flowed a wave, even blood.

There will be for us a foretaste [of the life to come]
in the press of death.

Oh sweet Jesus, Oh pious Jesus, Oh Jesus, son of Mary,


4. Oh Sons and Daughters

Oh sons and daughters,
the heavenly King, the King of glory,
has surged up from death today.

In this most holy festival,
let there be praise and jubilation;
let us bless the Lord,

About which things let us—most humble,
devoted, but also indebted—
say thanks to God.

 English Translation by Dr. Robert Zaslavsky

Japanese Translation / 日本語訳

1. Ne Tímeas, María

怖がらないでください マリアよ
覚えておきなさい あなたは身ごもり
そして その子は、至高の御方の息子と呼ばれるでしょう


2. Lúx Fulgébit

光が 今日 私たちを照らします
そして 彼は 素晴らしき方、神、

主は私たちの王です 威厳があり
そして 揺るがぬ意思を持っています 


3. Áve Vérum Córpus 

ああ 真なる御体よ
本当に傷つき 十字架の上で
その脇腹は 刺し貫かれ

私たちが 死の試練を前にしたとき 

ああ 優しき 敬虔な そしてマリアの息子のイエスよ


4. O Fílii et Fíliae

ああ 息子たち、娘たちよ
天上の王 栄光の王が
今日 死から蘇りました


そして つつましく
献身で 主の恩恵を受けている私たちは
ああ 喜びよ! 

 日本語訳・佐藤賢太郎 (Ken-P)

Program Note (JPN Only) / 初演時プログラムノート

「In Laude Iesu」によせて

  本ステージは、3曲の委嘱楽曲の初演を含む4曲構成の宗教音楽ステージです。ステージタイトルである「In Laude Iesu(イン・ラウデ・イェズ)」はラテン語で「イエスへの賞賛によせて」を意味します。歌詞は全て伝統的なラテン語のものですが、各楽章は、よく組曲になる宗教詩・群ではなく、今回の合唱団ICTUSの委嘱に際し、2007年に大阪の「合唱団天上花火」の委嘱曲として作曲した「Ave Verum Corpus」に「イエスの一生」というテーマにしたがって私が選択した3つのラテン語詩の楽章を追加した構成になっています。

  一曲目「Ne Timeas Maria」では、救世主の受胎を母マリアに告げる天使ガブリエルの優しい声が4分の4拍子にのせてゆっくりと流れていきます。
 二曲目「Lux Fulgebit」は、今はクリスマスとして祝われている日、つまりイエスが生まれた喜びを歌う楽曲です。8分の6拍子にのせて、さわやかに音楽が流れていきます。
 三曲目「Ave Verum Corpus」は、十字架の上で処刑されたイエスへの悲しみを歌う楽曲です。4分の4拍子にのせた半音のぶつかりと、その解決が続く厳しい音の中で、静かに音楽が進んでいきます。
 四曲目「O Filii et Filie」は、復活祭(イースター)、つまりイエス復活の喜びを祝う日の楽曲です。速いテンポの8分の6拍子と、アルト・テナー・バスのパートが繰り返す喜びの「アレルヤ」の上で、ソプラノが楽しく主旋律を歌い上げていきます。


about the Commission and the Premiere

 Ave Verum Corpus was commissioned by the Tenjo-Hanabi Mixed Chorus (Osaka, Japan) for its eighth concert on Nov. 11, 2007. Subsequently, In Laude Iesu, a choral suite in four movements (which incorporated the Ave Verum Corpus as one of its movements) was composed as a commission from the Chorus Group ICTUS (Chiba, Japan) for its sixth concert on Jun. 16, 2012.


 「Ave Verum Corpus」は合唱団天上花火による委嘱作品であり、初演は同団により2007年11月11日「合唱団天上花火第8回演奏会」(いずみホール)にて行われました。本作品は、合唱団イクトゥスによる委嘱作品3曲を加え、組曲として同団により2012年6月16日「合唱団イクトゥス第6回演奏会」(京葉銀行文化プラザ音楽ホール)にて初演が行われました。